Review: Models Own Nail Polish

I received this in my July Birchbox. The one thing that puts me off about glitter nail varnish is the trauma of trying to remove it! But after reading Emmas post on how to remove glitter nail varnish easily, I decided to give it a go! (I’ll let you know how I get on removing it too, Emma!) This shade is called Roman Candle.

image

Review
After applying my Nailgirls 3-1 Base, Top Coat & Strengthener, I applied a coat of this product. It took me 3 coats to get the effect I achieved, which is good because I hate it when it takes forever to get a good coverage, making it all thick which isn’t good for drying time. I really like the different shapes in this glitter which makes it look more interesting. I had a lot of compliments at work about them. Drying time was good too. Can’t really comment on chipping, the one thing I forgot about glitter nail varnish on its own is that it doesn’t show chips up as much as an opaque colour. But I’ve wore it for 2 days now and haven’t noticed any. The consistency of the formula is good too. Some glitter nail varnishes can be quite thick and hard to spread, but I had no problem with this. I applied a top coat to my polish so I didn’t get that annoying scratchy surface, which has left it with a smooth finish.

Conclusion
Would I buy a glitter nail polish again? Probably.. All depends on how easy it is to take off from Emmas tips! But from reading her post I’m pretty confident i won’t have any problems. I’d like to try out some of Models Own opaque colours before committing. I think opaque polishes and ones like the one I received are judged very different, but I feel more confident now to at least pick one up next time I’m out shopping. I think next time I’m going to try a colour underneath the glitter and see how that works out.

You can buy this nail polish from Superdrug for £5

Did you receive a Models Own polish in your Birchbox? Which shade did you get? Any polishes your obsessed with at the moment? Let me know!

9 thoughts on “Review: Models Own Nail Polish

  1. Thanks for the mention! 🙂 yes do let me know how you get on when it comes to removing it lol
    Revlon do these 2-in-1 nail varnishes which has 1 side colour and the other side glitter (to go with the colour.) I got one and they’re pretty good! (Reminder to myself to put up a review haha) x

  2. This looks so pretty, would probably look really nice with a simple colour underneith. I’m also put off by the removal which is more effort than its worth 🙂 there should be a special nail varnish remover just for glitter polish. x

      • Apparently you can use tin foil to remove it, by soaking a bit of cotton wool in nail varnish remover putting it on your nail and wrapping around tin foil. I guess the foil is to keep it in place for the 5 or so minutes you’re meant to leave it. I have no idea if it works but it might be worth trying 🙂 x

  3. Yeaaaah good luck with that removal lol! I’ve done the tinfoil trick before (but not the hairband), but regardless of HOW you go about it, removing glitter nail polish is a pain in the backside. I find the best way to be to just take a big pile of cotton pads and really effective nail polish remover and put on a good show and just watch while I soak each nail in the remover for like 5 minutes 😀 It’s ridiculous, but yeah, the least aggravating method for me. Oh and removing it isn’t any easier regardless of layers put underneath it 😀

Leave a Reply

