Sweet Strawberry Yankee Candle

I’ve never brought a Yankee candle before. I love candles, but I’ve always thought Yankee candles were rather overpriced. The only interaction I’ve had with this brand before was in a card shop that sells them local to me. But now, a whole shop full have popped up! They were having a promotional offer for the store launch, so I thought I would take the plunge and buy one, since they were on offer!

image

I smelt a few, and to be honest they didn’t have a massive range! I don’t know if it’s because they have been so popular on promotion, or that’s there usual range, but this is the only one that caught my eye, and nose!

It really does smell strawberries! I don’t really notice the smell to be honest when I’ve burnt it in my room, but when I leave and come back I can certainly smell it. I’ve had it burning a couple of hours every night for neatly two weeks and it hasn’t gone down too much. I love the jar too. I’m planning on using it when it’s burnt out for my make up brushes. Still looking for ways to organise my make up!

The only thing that’s miffed me a bit is that it doesn’t burn very evenly. I feel like a bit of product is being wasted just stuck to the sides. I don’t know if it’s because the jar is so large that it can’t get to the sides?

image

Then, as if the candle had seen me type this… The next night, it leveled out! Maybe it’s because I burnt it for longer… Or the flame was reaching the sides to melt the wax… I don’t know!

image

Overall I’m happy with my purchase, I don’t think i would buy a full sized one at full price (Β£20 for 22oz) but if they are on offer I’d be willing to have a nose, hopefully they will have more to choose from next time!

Are you a Yankee candle fan? What’s your favourite scent? Let me know!

13 thoughts on “Sweet Strawberry Yankee Candle

  1. Love these! πŸ™‚ You’re right, they are a little over priced, but they do burn for ages… I usually buy the little Yankee candles or the wax melts, as they’re pretty cheap and in Asda they’re often Β£1-2. The range isn’t great unless you go to a Yankee stocking store. The one I went into the other weekend had hundreds of them, and I was running around smelling them all like a possessed crazy candle lady! πŸ˜€ My big jar ones usually burn pretty evenly if I leave them on for ages, but the free standing ones look hilarious as they burn and melt down. x

    • I don’t mind paying Β£15 for 22oz but Β£20 seems a lot to me! I’ve found some on Amazon that are Β£15 so when this one burns out I might buy from there if the shop by me goes back to full price again. I’ve been told the Halloween and Christmas scents have come into stock though now which I’m excited to smell! I’m really happy how long this one is lasting though. It’s only just gone below the yankee candle logo and I’ve burnt it every night for between 3-5 hours for just over two weeks.

      • Ahh that’s brilliant! I don’t think I’ve ever burnt one enough to get it below the logo haha, I forget or have a new candle 😦 I have the orange Halloween one, I think it’s candy corn? I thought the white one smelt like hospitals and the black one was too ‘spicy; for my nose. Would definitely recommend the orange candy corn one though, I bought it three days ago and its so yummy i could eat it πŸ™‚

      • I’ll have to pop in again soon! It’s getting a habit now of burning it every night for a couple of hours, so I should finish it! Think I’m in a rush though cause I wanna use it for my brushes!

  2. I’ve had a couple of these before, but yes, they are insanely expensive. They do have really good scents though… I once had a small lavender one I loved and another scent I had was like a clean cotton or such. The big jar is currently serving as a cotton pad holder in the bathroom πŸ™‚ I do like that you can reuse the jars at least, but I don’t think I would regularly be buying these for this kind of a price :S

    • I think I saw a cotton one when I picked this one up. To be honest I have a feeling that this will last me about 2 months, if the rate it’s burning at now is anything to go by.. So I wouldn’t mind spending Β£15 every two months for a candle. I’m scared when this one finishes that it will just give me more of an excuse to buy make up brushes, because I will have room for them when I’ve got the jar to use to hold them!

  3. I love yankee candle! You need to leave them burning long enough so that the melted wax is all the way across the top. If that even makes sense. If you just have a little pool in the middle it will just continue to burn down like that and waste loads.
    I prefer the wax tarts and the burners. Better value for money because the tarts can last so many uses and you don’t have to worry about how long you burn them!

    • I was never really bothered about them before, but when there was a whole shop dedicated to them it peaked my interest! I can see myself buying another when this one is burnt out. I love how jars too, love reusing stuff!

Leave a Reply

