October Birchbox First Impressions

image

Hello beauties! I’m so behind on my beauty box posts so please forgive me. As you may have read in my previous posts I was a bridesmaid at my friends wedding and that monopolised alot of my time. This month’s box is about Working It! It’s also supported by Coppa Feel which is a charity that supports breast cancer awareness. As some of you may know it’s breast cancer awareness month, so this month’s box gives you 3 ways you can support this charity, and also gives you some advice on how you can check yourself for breast cancer. So let’s get cracking on what I received!

Balance Me Cleanse and Smooth Face Balm

image

A natural nourishing cleanser with exfoliating oatmeal powder. Perfect for normal to dry skin – but also be balanced oily skin too!

We’ve all heard of Balance Me before. I was happy to see this in my box because I haven’t actually tried any of their products out before, except for an eye cream. This is a pretty good 40ml sample. I like samples of products like this to be quite big because I can see the benefits better. As we all know, it takes your skin up to 2 weeks to accept a new product and see the benefits from using it. I’m more likely to buy a full sized item if the sample size is adequate. The balm smells quite lemony which is very appealing. It’s quite a thick formula too, so you can really work the exfoliating beads into your skin. 125ml full sized tube of this costs £20

KMS California Hair Play Dry Wax

image

A spray that adds easy to style, second day texture to your hair, with a matte finish.

This is another generous 75ml sample of this product, which is half the size of a full sized bottle. I’ve personally never used a sprayable wax. I haven’t used any sort of wax in my hair since I was younger and had shorter hair. I’m interested in seeing what styles I can work with this product. I sprayed it on my hand to see if it was sticky like wax usually is and it was, which is what puts me off using wax in my hair. Is can weigh your hair down. You can get a 150ml bottle of this for £15.

Shaveworks The Cool Fix

image

This genius cooling gel Lotion treats ingrown hairs, razor bumps and redness after hair removal.

To be honest I don’t ever get razor bumps since changing my razor to the Wilkinson Sword Intuition Razor, and I don’t use any sort of hair removal creams either. I’m not sure I’ll have any use for this, but I will try it to see if I see any improvements from using it. This is a 29ml sample which will last you a few shaves. A 60ml bottle will set you back £8.80

Pixi by Petra Shea Butter Lip Balm

image

A full size nourishing lip balm packed with shea butter, plus a hint of colour!

Now it’s getting colder this is the perfect thing to be receiving in your beauty subscriptions. My lips are getting a bit dryer with the weather change so I look forward to trying this out. I love lip care products with a colour to them too! This is a full sized item worth £8

Meaningful Beauty Glowing Serum

image

A sumptuous radiance enhancing, anti aging serum from Dr Sebagh and Cindy Crawford.

This is a pretty good 8ml sample of this serum. I always complain, and I will never stop, when I get sent tiny tiny sampled of skin products. But I’m happy with this size. As you know, serums can go a long way so I feel I’m gonna get my use out of this one. I have so many serums and creams to use up though, I feel I won’t get to this for a while. That’s the thing about having multiple beauty subscriptions… Never getting around to everything! This serum has a pump action which is very useful. A full sized 15ml bottle will set you back £30.95…this sample seems pretty good now don’t you think?

Lifestyle Extras

image

image

I love these little extras that birchbox give you every month. Most of the time they are quite useful. I have to say though, the little make up bag is going to be so useful to me. I always have make up in the bottom of my bag and i always end up loosing something, so having this little lip bag is gonna save me from that! Can’t say I’ll end up using the pen however as I always end up loosing those too! I’m forever hunting around for them!

So overall I’m pretty happy with my box this month! There is a nice mixture of procure that I received. Most of them will get some use! If you’re interested in subscribing to Birchbox, use my referral link and each of our accounts will be credited with £5 to use in the birchbox shop!

What did you receive in your birchbox? Anything that you wished you had got? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

