Mac Haul & My First Mac Experience

I’ll be honest. I’ve never really got the Mac hype. I’ve never brought Mac. I’ve also never had a Mac counter near me to try out anything. A couple of weeks ago, my local Debenham finally got a Mac counter. I had a wedding which I was a bridesmaid for, and I wanted a foundation that would last me all day. The bride had her makeup trial the other day and she said her foundation was Mac. It looked amazing. This is all I needed to take a trip to the counter.

image

Mac Studio Fix Foundation

A modern foundation that combines a natural matte finish and medium-buildable coverage with broad spectrum UVA/UVB SPF 15. Comfortable and long-wearing: lasts for up to eight hours. Applies smoothly, builds coverage quickly and easily. Contains specially treated micronized pigments and soft-focus powders for a super-smooth look that helps minimize the appearance of imperfections. Absorbs and disperses oil. Contains special skin-conditioning ingredients. Oil free.

I went to the Mac counter specifically for a foundation match. It was so busy on the counter, there wasn’t any room to try the shades out to see which one was my match. I was getting rather annoyed, it was really busy because the shopping centre was having a student lock in night and it was full of students. I gave up and waited for a Mac professional to help me choose my match.
I talked to a lovely women who sat me down in front of a big mirror with lights. She asked me if I had ever tried Mac before and asked me what I was looking for today. I explained that I was attending a wedding and I needed a good foundation that will last me all day. She explained that they do a 8 hour and 15 hour foundation. Unfortunately, they didn’t do my shade in the 15 hour Pro Longwear (how annoying..) but they had my perfect match in the 8 hour.
My shade was NW13. The names for the shade kind of confused me, I’m so used to the Ivorys and porcelains names that usually go with my foundations. She applied the foundation to my jaw line and worked it in. It really was the perfect match! She then applied it to my whole face and I was sold.

Mac Lip Pencil in Boldly Bare & Mac Mineralize Glass Lip Gloss

A pencil designed for shaping, lining or filling in the lip. Lip Pencils have a smooth, creamy texture that is perfect for lining the lips or filling them in.

Enhanced with a 77-Mineral Moisture Complex, this sophisticated formula keeps lips soft and silky, providing a luminous, modern shine. Smoothes on with a plush applicator.Β 

I didn’t really mean to buy these to be honest. I had explained to her previously that the bride wanted our make up to be natural. I haven’t got very many nude lipsticks, most of my collection is made up of various reds. So she went and grabbed a lip liner and the gloss. I have very naturally red lips, so she said what I should do is brush over my lips with a make up brush with excess foundation on. This is done to neutralise the redness of my lips so you get a true colour. It’s a good tip because when she put the Boldly Bare lip liner on it looked really vibrant. I had never thought of colouring in your whole lips with a lip liner. After she had filled in my lips, she applied the glass lip gloss and it looked lovely. I was sold.

She also talked to me about blushers. Being so pale, it can be hard to find a blusher that suits my skin tone. She picked out a lovely blusher called Warm Soul. She applied it to me and showed me that if I used a foundation brush with excess foundation on to dot around where I had applied my blusher, it doesn’t leave such a harsh line and actually blends it in.
She also picked out a loose eyeshadow called Naked Pigment. She explained to me that this can be also used for contouring and she applied some down my nose and above my cheek bones. I’ve never been the best at contouring so this was a great lesson.
And lastly, I asked her about mascara. I’ve had a problem lately with my mascara smudging under my eyes. I can’t tell you the amount of mascaras that I’ve tried out for this wedding which claim to be smudge proof and waterproof that just don’t do themselves justice. She advised I get the Extended Play mascara. She said it lasts 16 hours smudge free which is what I needed, but I didn’t get it just yet because i had a couple more mascaras to try at home.

Overall I was really happy with my first visit to Mac. I was so overwhelmed by the lady’s knowledge of products, which I would expect from a premium brand like Mac. I’ll certainly go back when i need something. I’m even tempted to have a make over done there. They do make over for Β£25 and you can put that Β£25 towards products they have used on you, if you wish to buy any. But why wouldn’t you? The first thing she said to me when she sat me down was.. Once you go Mac, you never go back!

I’ll be doing a full review of these products when I’ve had some time to use them.

What are you thought on Mac? Have you ever visited a counter? What’s your favourite product by them? Let me know!

15 thoughts on “Mac Haul & My First Mac Experience

  1. I have a love-hate relationship with MAC – love how their products look, but can’t wear them everyday otherwise I get breakouts. The foundation is amazing! And their shadows are great as well πŸ™‚

    • I’m quite lucky with my skin, I don’t really get reactions from products very often. Must be thick skinned 😊 I’ll have to check out some of their eyeahadows, thanks for reading x

  2. I’ve never tried mac either and been a bit dubious of the hype, but by the sounds of it maybe I’m missing out!
    The girls at the Clarins counter always seem to be lovely too, makes life so much either when the counter staff are nice and not snobby! xx

    • I went to channel counter once and the women on there was horrible. Turned her nose up at me! I wanted to buy the mademoiselle perfume but was trying to decide between another. She stopped serving me and started talking to a woman in a nice suit. I interupted and told her she was really rude and I’d be purchasing it at the perfume shop across the mall. Her face was a picture!

      • Good on you for telling her! She shouldve taken you more seriously. Urgh it really annoys me when i hear stories like this. I like dior make up but theur staff arent usually that great either, i dont get it!
        Glad to hear theyre jice over at mac though x

  3. Seriously, I love MAC. In my country, drugstore products are so expensive (high end too) so I buy MAC. It is expensive too but prices are so close so I prefer MAC. Their lipsticks are perfect and my recent favorite is Diva.

  4. I really love your blog, your posts are all so beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other πŸ™‚ I am so glad I got to discover you ❀

Leave a Reply

