Skin Pep Brightening Enzyme & Acid Peel Review

I received this in my September Glossybox. I was scared to use it at first. I mean.. It has the word acid in the name! But, I got the courage to try it out.

image

Our professional salon grade protein dissolving natural enzyme derived gel uses extracts of Pineapple and Papaya.
We combine them with proven natural —Alpha Hydroxy Acids (AHAs) Glycolic acid and Lactic acid, to create a highly effective, yet gentle peeling gel. Use up to twice per week to leave exfoliated, soft, bright and beautiful skin.

Application
Apply a small amount of gel to damp face, neck or body and gently massage in for 1-2 minutes. Leave on for another 1-2 minutes and then wash off. Use up to twice weekly

Review
This peel is translucent and quite thick, as a peel usually is. It’s also really sticky, again as a peel usually is, which made it such a mess to applying. It seems a strange method to apply it to a damp face in my opinion. When I first applied the peel, it stung a little, it freaked me out for a second, but it subsided after like 20 seconds. After covering my whole face, I massaged it into my face and waited 5 minutes. This peel doesn’t dry to your face, it just sits on top of your face like jelly. After I worked it in and left it for 5 minutes i washed the product off with a warm washcloth. My skin felt really clean. It didn’t feel any softer then it usually would however.

Conclusion
This peel comes in various sizes.
3.5ml sachet : £3.99 
15ml tube : £14.99 
30ml tube : £29.99 
180ml tube : £89.99 
It’s quite expensive.. I mean.. If i could buy these 3.5ml sachets in my local drugstore as a treat when my face needed a good clean, I’d probably pick up one. I don’t think i would ever commit to a full sized product though. I’ve tried similar products that are much cheaper that bring results and aren’t gonna chemically strip your face. I can’t say I really like the idea of this to be honest. The one thing I do like about this product is that’s it’s Paraben Free. I’m trying to use products that don’t control paraben, so I’ll keep this in mind when choosing my skin care products.

Have you tried this product? What did you think? What peels have you tried? Let me know!

11 thoughts on “Skin Pep Brightening Enzyme & Acid Peel Review

  1. I’ve never tried this product, but I think you’re a little confused as to what this mask is supposed to do, when you say ‘peel off’ those are different masks than peels, the ones you’re referring to act like a huge nose strip, but this one is meant to chemically exfoliate your skin. Thats why it has acid and enzyme in the name, it uses those to dissolve your dead skin to brighten skin.
    XOXO
    Veronica

  2. I tried one of these the other day too. I really didn’t like it, it made my skin irritated even though I’ve heard acid peels are meant to be better for sensitive skin. Tbh I don’t think I’ll use my other sachet x

  3. You’re a lot braver than me! I wouldn’t have put anything that said acid anywhere near my face haha!
    I hate it when you get samples like this. How are you meant to be able to tell if you want to buy a product based on one application/use? Especially something quite pricey like this… they should have given you at least three sachets!

    • This is my big per peeve with skin care samples. It takes your skin around 2 weeks to get used to a product and it to show any benefits. How would I know it’s gonna do me any good if I get one samples worth. Although with this I did get two but I’m in no rush to use the second to be honest!

      • I hate it when you get samples like this too, there’s never enough to form a proper opinion! However I’m still not brave enough either, so go you for using it! The word ‘acid’ is making me cringe still! x

  4. Please actually read the multiple 5 star reviews is this amazing product. it is supposed to dissolve dead skin and unblock your pores. If you did not notice a difference after using one application, then you must have healthy clean skin with very little dead skin. The simple wash you are referring to has no ability to remove or dissolve dead skin like this product has. the company provided two samples with is a two weeks supply because they correctly direct it should be used 1 -2 time per week to keep your skin smooth. After examining the science behind the product is is actually the natural pineapple and papaya enzymes that dissolve the dead skin. I personally think the name is bad. It should have been called an enzyme peel rather then an acid & enzyme peel. I think many more of the 30k plus women who were sent samples would have actually tried it and discovered that it is amazing for keeping their skin clear and pores unblocked like it has done for me. My skin is much softer then before and actually glowing now. for £7.50 the 15ml tube lasts me 1 month, so actually cheaper then anything i can buy anywhere else that actually works.

    Look at all the positive reviews http://www.glossybox.co.uk/brands/skinpep/brightening-enzyme-and-acid-peel/

Leave a Reply

