Benefit It’s Potent! Eye Cream Review

Hello beauties! So I’ve been using this a while now, every morning and every night. I received this in my September Birchbox. I’ve been quite surprised at how long it’s lasted me! But i suppose when your using something on such a small area like your eyes, it’s gonna!

image

It’s potent! eye cream fades dark circles & helps smooth fine lines for brighter, younger-looking eyes. Contains a peptide complex known to help restore elasticity & firmness, a blend of hydrating botanical extracts including apple extract, known to help boost collagen, & loquat extract, known to help protect the skin from free radical damage.

Review
This is a 3g sample I received, and like i said, it’s lasted me quite a while! I recently had some trouble with the sensitive skin around my eyes. It was looking so dry when I put any foundation on my skin. I had to use extra Virgin Olive Oil to deeply hydrate my skin for a couple of weeks. After that I maintained it with this cream. Let’s start with the packaging. I never really understand when creams are in jars. All plant extracts, vitamins and antioxidants break down once the jar is opened and lets the air in, which leads the ingredients to degrade. Now let’s get into the stuff in the jar. I don’t have particularly sensitive skin. But one of my blogger friends Rachel over at Rachwat said she had a reaction using this. So I decided to investigate what’s actually in this Potent cream. Turns out, this cream is jam packed with film-forming agent. As we all know, film-forming agent can make skin feel smoother and temporarily tighter. It can also make your skin irritated. Irritation can lead to wrinkles, bags and dark circles. Everything this cream claims to reduce! It’s also lacking in anti aging ingredients, it contains more preservative and alcohol then anything to reduce those fine lines. Alot of people have said that they have noticed their skin stinging when they have applied it. This is due to the amount of alcohol in it. On the plus side, it is a cracking moisturiser, despite all the alcohol. Personally I prefer something heavier for the PM to soak into my skin, but it was good for the AM. It kept my dry eyes at bay. It soaks into your skin beautifully, and it works great under your make up. But I’m afraid ladies that it’s just another glorified moisturiser.

Conclusion
Will I be buying the full size jar? I will not be. If it was a bit cheaper I could consider it, but £25 for just a bog standard moisturiser is far too much in my opinion. Don’t get me wrong, I do like this moisturiser, but I just don’t agree with the lack of beneficial ingredients and the over powering of film forming agents which irritate skin.

Have you tried this cream? What did you think? What eye cream are you using at the moment? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “Benefit It’s Potent! Eye Cream Review

  1. I love getting Benefit products from Birchbox! I’ve gotten Fakeup but it was incredibly small but I still haven’t finished it! I have also been wanting to get an eye cream so I’m glad to know not to get this one!
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

