Mac Studio Fix Fluid Review

I’ve been meaning to write this review for a while now. I brought this back in October for my friends wedding because I wanted a great quality foundation that would last me all day. I was a bridesmaid so I was going to be in a lot of pictures, so I needed to look my best! I went to my nearest Mac counter and spoke to a professional. You can read about my first ever Mac experience here and also check out my Mac haul.

image

The liquid version of our all-time classic Studio Fix foundation. Provides medium buildable coverage and flawless natural-matte finish. Includes SPF 15 for everyday sun protection. Oil-free and long-wearing.

Review
We’ve all heard the Mac hype. I’m not really much for hype to be honest, because alot of the time it always end up overrated. I think that’s why it took me so long to actually dive into the world of Mac, as well as the price. A friend of mine that was doing the make up for the wedding told me I should check out Mac’s foundation, so that’s what I did.. Obviously!
This is a medium to full coverage foundation that is easily buildable with a semi matte finish. I’ve been using this for over 2 months now so i think I have a pretty good idea about the product. To start with, the thickness of the foundation really scared me. I though it would leave my face looking cakey, but if you use it correctly it looks amazing. Some people have a problem with how thick the foundation is, but this is why I love it because it gives such a full coverage. If you are a lover for light, dewy, glowing skin then I wouldn’t recommend this foundation for you.  This is when a good buffing brush comes in handy.
It’s lasting power is pretty impressive. I have noticed after a full day at work I require a few touch is around my nose and on my chin (the oily parts of my face). Despite this, I am extremely impressed with this foundation. I use Revlon Photoready Perfecting Primer underneath and I apply my foundation using a Real Technique buffing brush and it always leaves me with a Flawless finish. I finish my look with Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder on my oily areas. I’d love to be able to use all the mac products they recommend with this foundation, but it’s all too expensive to buy at once! Maybe one day I will build up my mac products, but for now this is gonna have to do!
The only thing that annoys me about this product is that it doesn’t come with a pump. The woman on the Mac counter told me that she would put one in for me, but I got home and there wasn’t one on. Thankfully though, I still had an empty bottle of Max Factor foundation and after cleaning it up, that worked perfectly!

Conclusion
If you have dry skin I would definitely stay away from this foundation. But because I have combination skin, it’s perfect for my oily bits. The semi matte formula would just stick to all of your dry patches which isn’t a good look.

2 thoughts on “Mac Studio Fix Fluid Review

  1. Great review. This foundation in one of my clients favourites in my kit. If you ever wanted to sheer this out, a spritz of Fix + on your face and a little less product will make you look more “Dewy” just let your foundation dry a little longer 🙂

Leave a Reply

