How tea tree oil diminished my spider veins

image

I kind of discovered this totally by accident. I’ve looked into how to remove them before, but never thought of natural remedies. I’ve suffered with spider veins around my nose for a long time. It’s the main reason I wear foundation. I’ve always been very conscious about it, and I’ve even looked into lasertherapy to have them removed. Lasertherapy was always going to be the last resort, but I have looked into products like Skin Doctors Vein Away Plus, but they haven’t had very good reviews, and when people say it has worked, it’s been over using the product for a very long time.

So what are spider veins?
Spider veins are like varicose veins but smaller. They also are closer to the surface of the skin than varicose veins. Often, they are red or blue. They can look like tree branches or spiderwebs with their short, jagged lines. They can be found on the legs and face and can cover either a very small or very large area of skin.

So what causes them?
There isn’t really one reason, there are many reasons. It tend to develop as we age and our skin and blood vessels become less elastic. Hormonal changes associated with pregnancy and menopause are thought to provoke their development, which is the reason why women are more prone to them than men. You can also inherit a family tendency to the problem. Other causes include too much sunbathing, exposure to wind or extreme temperatures, cortico-steroid medicines and radiotherapy. Jobs that involve prolonged standing may aggravate the condition, but they don’t actually cause it.

My mom had spider veins, so I’m assuming I have them because she did. I started using tea tree oil because i was having a really bad break out that I wanted to control. I had a spot right on the end of my nose, I looked like Rudolph. So I was pretty much applying it around my nose and on my nose. I noticed after using it a week that my spider veins started to diminish. They haven’t gone all together by all means, but they certainly are much less noticeable then before. I only wish I had taken a before before to show you the difference, but I don’t tend to take pictures without makeup on!

It should come as no surprise that tea tree oil is a powerful ingredient that’s shown to help treat spider veins. Aloe vera and tea tree oil can be used together to successfully help combat varicose veins. Research has revealed that they help control inflammation, swelling, redness and discomfort in cases of mild to moderate varicose veins. Other essential oils can also be used for spider veins, such as lemon, lavender, rosemary, cypress, neroli and chamomile oil. You will want to make sure to have a good carrier oil with which to mix these, such as jojoba or almond oil.

I hope this helps out someone else that suffers from spider veins. I’m currently using a superdrug own brand tea tree oil spot stick, and it’s been working fine for me!

Do you suffer from spider veins? Do you have any other natural remedies? Or do you use tea tree for any other skin problems? Let me know!

8 thoughts on “How tea tree oil diminished my spider veins

    • My friend uses a mixture and said it’s worked great for her. I’ve only used the actual tea tree oil spot sticks at the moment but I’m going to experiment more soon.

  1. I haven’t tried tea tree oil just yet but plan on it testing it out soon, I heard it’s great for hair loss and those bald spots. Definitely trying it on the spider veins below my nostrils too, thanks for this post!

  2. Hi!
    This sounds awesome! I have spider veins on my legs from pregnancy and was wondering how I would apply this. You mentioned a carrier oil, what would be the measurements I would use to dilute. How many drops to oil ratio. Thanks!!

    • I’ve had good results from 2% dilution. You don’t want to overpower your mixture because that can be bad for your skin. At the moment I’ve been using extra virgin olive oil because it’s full of vitamins and minerals and my skin is quite dry at the moment. I’d recommend looking at different carrier oils and reading about the benefits for each, and work out what you want from it.
      The ratio I’ve been using is 30ml oil and 12 drops of tea tree.
      Hope this helps 😊 x

Leave a Reply

