February Birchbox First Impressions

Hello beauties! I hope you’re all well. So this month’s Birchbox felt quite heavy, which i always love! I know you tend to get more samples with Birchbox, but they have been great lately with their samples sizes!

image

With it being February, this boxes theme is love! It goes way beyond being limited to one day for valentines day, they’re talking about the things we love the whole month through. This month’s box contains skin saving creams, beautifying hair treatments, and a make up brand that they are very excited about. So lets get to what I received!

London Butterflies Whipped Body Cream

image

We pay plenty of attention to the skin on our face, but often forget about the rest of our body. Thankfully London Butterflies has exactly what your limbs need. Packed with nourishing ingredients like jasmine, starflower and almond oil, it sinks in quickly to rehydrate the skin and leave it super soft. Plus, the ultra indulgent scent has been specially created to relax both your body and mind.

I’d love to be able to comment on the smell of this, but I can’t smell a thing at the moment with this horrendous cold. However, I’ve tried a little bit on my hand and it soaked into my skin so quickly, I was quite impressed! And it’s a pretty decent size too! It’s a 30ml sample which I will get a few uses out of. The glass jar is very nice and it feels expensive. Full size is 170ml for £37.

TheBalm Cosmetics Stainiac in Beauty Queen

image

This two-in-one lip and cheek stain gives us a natural, understated flush and helps us get out the door faster! The gel formula looks dark in the tube but delivers a sheer tint. The tinted gel leaves a lasting stain on lips and cheeks. Since it’s water-based, it has a longer setting time than most quick-dry stains, which means it won’t leave any unsightly streaks behind as long as you take care to blend well. Use a single coat for a subtle look or layer it on for a more visible (yet still discreet) hue.

I’ve always stayed away from cheek stains. I don’t know why i just don’t like the idea of them. I’m trying to stay away from pinks with my blusher as I feel warmer tones suit me more.. But I’m looking forward to using this as a lip stain! This is a 1.2ml sample. Full size is worth £10 but doesn’t state how big a full size is.

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner

image

Everyone has that forward-looking friend who can push them to take a style leap. We feel that way about fashion designer Cynthia Rowley. Having already proven her mettle as the creator of a high-performance makeup line, she’s breaking new ground with these playful yet stylish liners. These creamy pencils glide on velvety-smooth, and the smudge-proof formula lasts all day. In on-trend shades like rose gold and shimmery brown, they’re helping us push the beauty envelope—and the results are nothing short of eye-opening.

I’m so glad I got the black Eyeliner and not the silver. I’m not much or an experimenter with coloured eyeliners. I’ve got a stock pile of eyeliners to try out so it’s probably gonna take me a while to get to this one. This one is very creamy which I look for in an Eyeliner. This is a 0.3oz sample and looking on Birchbox website a full size is 0.04oz so not far off full size! Full size is worth £11

Liz Earle Beauty Co Botanical Shine Shampoo

image

Taking the same approach to hair as she has to skin, Liz Earle Botanical Shine Shampoo can be used on all hair types. Containing over 89% natural ingredients, the shampoo promises to cleanse and nourish hair in the same way as a traditional shampoo without any nasties.

I have only experienced Liz Earle skincare products, so when I found out this was a shampoo, I was immediately interested. If their shampoo is as good as their skincare products, my hair in for a treat. This is a 50ml sample. Full size is 200ml worth £10.

Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance Serum

image

A highly concentrated, oil-free serum that improves the appearance of dark spots, promotes even skintone, and boosts radiance. What it is formulated to do: Highly concentrated with naturally powerful Viniferine, this satiny serum reduces the appearance of existing dark spots such as acne marks, scars, and damage revealing a brighter, more even complexion. What it is formulated WITHOUT: – Parabens – Sulfates – Phthalates

I have a few serums to get through but this is the first serum sample I’ve encountered in a tube which surprised me when I read what it was. I used a little on my hand and the only way I can describe it is a watered down moisturiser. Obviously I haven’t tried it properly yet to have a full opinion, but I did notice how quickly it sinked into my skin. This is a 10ml sample. Full size is 30ml worth £45. I think it’s a pretty good size considering full size is 30ml!

Vita Coco Coconut Oil (lifestyle extra)

image

Vita Coco, the company who first brought us delicious tasting coconut water, now brings to our shores its own brand of 100% Organic Coconut Oil. Cold pressed from Organic coconuts, 100% raw and extra virgin, this new addition to the Vita Coco Family is the perfect cooking oil and goes a long way to rescuing dry skin and hair – that’s why people swear by it!

I do love a good versatile product, but this is a weird one! On the packaging it says Eat it, Wear it, Swear by it. That got me interested! Even with this horrendous cold I can smell the coconuts, I did want to eat it! This is one of the vets lifestyle extras I’ve ever got. I’m so excited to try it out in all of its aspects!

So that’s my February Birchbox! I’m so happy with everything. Everything was a very good sample size and the lifestyle extra made it! I’m gonna get use out of everything which is always a bonus with these beauty subscription boxes. I’m actually looking for another box to subscribe to, so if you have any other suggestions of boxes to try (I already have Glossybox and you beauty  discovery box) let me know!

If you’re interested in subscribing to Birchbox, use my referral link and each of our accounts will be credited with £5 to use in the birchbox shop!

What did you get in this month’s box? Have you tried anything from my box? What did you think? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “February Birchbox First Impressions

  1. Oh wow this is a really good box! I tried out a new box a few weeks back called love me beauty, which I was really impressed with. I did a post about it if you want to know more x

Leave a Reply

