My first benefit counter experience + Haul

Hello beauties! I hope you are all well. I’ve never been one to go to make up counters and ask for help, but after my Mac Counter experience (which you can read about here!), I thought I would post about another experience of mine! So Saturday I went shopping to find a new foundation to use. I’ve been using Mac Studio Fix Fluid which I have been loving, but alas I have gotten a bit bored! So I popped down to boots with a fresh face, armed with my advantage card (triple points, yay!) and was a free agent. I didn’t have a particular make I wanted to try out to be honest, just one I’ve never tried before, foundation wise.. I had a mooch around and waited for someone to approach me. I wanted to try out some smashbox because I haven’t got any of their products in my collection, but the woman was busy with another customer.

I walked to the benefit counter where I was greeted by a lovely girl asking me if I needed any help. She sat me down and asked me what I wanted from my foundation, which was something easily buildable for nights out, nothing too cakey and a perfect match for my pale mush. But before applying my Make Up, she asked if it was alright if she removed my Make Up, which I replied that I wasn’t wearing any (except for some mascara, penciled in eyebrows and few blemishes covered up.. that doesn’t count as make up though, that’s a necessity!) she was so shocked at how amazing my skin was, which I disagreed with. My head was telling me that she was just saying this to pile me with compliments so I would buy off of her… But anyway.

She cleansed my face with their Remove It Make Up Remover which smell beautiful. After she cleansed my face she applied their Triple Performing Facial Emulsion to my face. This moisturiser hydrates, protects & comforts the skin with an oil-free, lightweight formula. She applied it to half of my face and and gave me the mirror to show the difference. To my dismay, my rosey cheeks that were burning up cause of it being a bit warm in the store had calmed down, well the one side she had applied it to had anyway. Not sure that’s because of the moisturiser or a coincidence… But I might have to purchase some of that to find out for myself!

image

After she had applied the moisturiser to the other half of my face she started to ask me about primers. I told her I was currently using Mac Prep + Prime (review coming soon!) she then pulled out the UKs number one selling primer The POREfessional. I’ve used this primer before and told her how much I loved it when I used it, but she still felt the need to prove to me how good it was. She took my hand and asked me to part my index finger a thumb to stretch out the skin between those two fingers. She applied it to my skin where it is quite creased and showed me how it fills in the lines. I was quite impressed to be honest.

She applied the primer to my nose and chin because that’s all I needed aparently. I thought a little under my eyes could of helped out those fine lines, but I felt her to it. So after all that prep, it was finally on to the product i actually came in for, the foundation.

image

She pointed me towards their Hello Flawless Oxygen WOW Brightening Foundation. This new oil-free brightening liquid foundation builds from light to medium coverage for a natural complexion. The bottle is pretty awesome too cause it gets every last drop of foundation out of the tube. I hate when you have finished a foundation off but you have loads of excess foundation you can’t get your hands on! This is similar design to No7 foundations. It’s also 25 SPF which is great for me because as soon as I see sun I’m burnt. We together chose ivory as my shade and she applied my foundation while having a chat about my plans for the bank holiday.  She finished my foundation off and showed me how it looked. I’m used to a full coverage because I’m quite conscious of my freckles and blotchy skin, but my face actually looked brighter and fresher! I was shocked my skin could look this good without a full coverage. I asked if it was easily buildable to a full coverage and she said it was. She asked me if I wanted her to apply more, but i was overjoyed with my new glowing look. Full review is available here!

image

So after I stopped starring in the mirror, she stated talking to me about powders. I told her I was currently using Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder and that it had been a staple in my makeup bag for a long time. She introduced me to Hello Flawless Pressed Powder and I immediately fell in love with the packaging. The one thing that I always thought would make the rimmel Pressed Powder better was for it to be portable with a mirror. This is just the thing I needed for on the go touch ups. This silky powder cover-up glides on naturally sheer and layers beautifully for customised coverage with SPF protection. 

image

image

image

It also has a sponge and brush underneath the powder which just flips up and a handy little mirror. Benefits packaging always gets me excited. Even the box it comes in I love! She picked the powder that matched my foundation and applied it on my forehead, most and chin, which are my oiliest spots on my nose.

So after applying the Pressed Powder she asked me if I wanted to look at some of their blushers, bronzes and concealers which I declined as I’m pretty happy with what I have at the moment. There wasn’t any pressure at all to buy everything she had used on me, but she politely asked if I was interested in any of the products she had used today. That’s my fear of going to a make up counter and the people forcing me to buy their products cause she’s used it. Not that has ever happened, but it’s always in the back of your head. I hate those pressure pitches.. Puts me right off. After looking at all the products she had used I picked the foundation, primer and powder!

image

I was impressed with the woman’s knowledge of her products and how polite she was. She never let there be any awkward silences between us which I loved as I’m rubbish at small talk! Overall a lovely experience, and I came away with some lovely products.

All together my purchased came to £76.50 which is more then I intended to buy and spend! But I’m happy to have a compact power and another primer! Let me know your experiences with makeup counters!

7 thoughts on “My first benefit counter experience + Haul

  1. Benefit are great. One of my friends had a brow shape at their counter last week and it looked amazing!! Isn’t it fun getting your makeup done?

  2. It’s fantastic that you got someone who was helpful and great product knowledge because it really helps with the overall experience. Can’t wait to see a full review of the goodies you picked up!

    • It does make the whole experience more enjoyable! Haven’t had a bad experience yet at a counter, which I find strange cause I always read about people’s experiences being over pushy and orange!

      • We used to have sephora here in the UK, but I don’t think they did very well so left us! I’ve had good experiences with Mac, I guess it’s just who you get at the time!

Leave a Reply

